HIC isotherm for CADET-Process

Hello everyone,

I’m new to CADET and recently joined this community.

I’ve noticed that the HIC isotherm was introduced in CADET v4.4.0. Does anyone know if it will be integrated into CADET-Process soon? I find CADET-Process more user-friendly and am eager to see the HIC isotherm feature added.

Additionally, does CADET-Process offer an option to create a custom isotherm model?

Thank you!

Welcome @shubo!

The main developer of CADET-Process is @j.schmoelder, who is currently on vacation. Hence, integration of the HIC isotherms will at least take a few weeks.

Good to hear :slight_smile: This is intended. The CADET simulator is complex and it shouldn’t be necessary to use it directly for most / common tasks.

CADET-Process internally translates its models into a format the CADET simulator can understand. CADET is then used to simulate the system and the results are converted back to a convenient format by CADET-Process.

This means that you will need to implement your custom isotherm in the CADET simulator (and a wrapper in CADET-Process as well). This is not too difficult if you use a template or start from an existing similar isotherm. We can also offer some guidance and support. @ronald.jaepel, for example, has successfully implemented some isotherms. We also have some preliminary documents on how to write your own isotherm that we can make available to you.

There are ideas to develop a simple descriptive language for custom isotherms, but we lack the resources to do so.

2 Likes

Hi @shubo ,
again, welcome :slight_smile:

HIC in CADET-Process

I’ve implemented bindings for the currently available HIC Isotherms into CADET-Process for now. These might change when @j.schmoelder returnes from his vacation, but this way you can start working with HIC now.

To use these, you will need to update CADET-Process to an unreleased branch by running this command: